everything is about video…

I myself am a big fan of video creation- especially good cinematic style adverts and fashion films for fashion brands which are becoming ever more popular and necessary for a brand to succeed.

For example the latest calvin klein provocations campaign 9min short http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Udk6uinLkIk which for me is mind-blowing in terms of cinematic techniques, poetic narrative and not to mention the amazing clothes. Before seeing this video I was not too much of a calvin klein fan and knew only about their clean sterile cuts, but now after seeing this video I appreciate them much more and will look forward to seeing more of their shorts because it has created an extension of the brand in my mind now- this whole world that you see in this video.

The reason I write about this is because I came across http://mashable.com/2013/01/23/twitter-vine-videos/ “Twitter users may soon have a new way to share videos in their tweets.” with ‘Vine’ – a small start up that twitter acquired in october. the length of these videos is said to be 6 seconds and no more. This will definitely change the psychology of content creators and consumers. Shorter, faster, simpler – I guess this will work for product display very well however I hope that doesn’t affect the great ads which are 1-2min long which create moments, worlds, stories.

 

Below is a link to a video I made in free time created with archive footage from the 70s of fashion production, lifestyle, status, and includes some classics such as Betty Page. https://vimeo.com/62539580 it also plays with the idea that everything is a remix

Leave a Reply

